Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
first a little info. i am dual booting my computer with Red Hat 9 and XP and the Red Hat that im using is one that i download all the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

really confused and really nedd help

first a little info. i am dual booting my computer with Red Hat 9 and XP and the Red Hat that im using is one that i download all the 3 iso from Red Hat servers and i am very new to Red Hat Linux.

i just installed Red Hat 9 on my computer and it when fine. now when i enter red hat for some reason a box always pops up asking if i want to install any additional cds. so i poped in the first cd and it shows me all the packages that i can install. i selected all of them but then it gives me an error saying that gtkhtml = 1.1.8-5, kdelibs = 6:3.1-10, krb5 - libs = 1.2.7-10, openssl = o.9.7a-2 need to be installed first before these packages can be installed. so i skiped that part looked in the cd and saw those files. when i doubled clicked them to install it says that they already are.

do i need to download a new updated version of these files so i can install these packages and if so how do i install them right. i have looked up the files up on the interent but that just made me more confused.

any help would be very appreciated.

Linux Engineer
    When you boot into Linux, tell me what its exactly like. For example, is X (GUI) running? Can you at least get into a desktop like Gnome or KDE?
    The best things in life are free.

Just Joined!
    ok this is what exactly happens. i start red hat then it goes through the whole check part. then when thats done a welcome screen pops up saying a few more steps.