Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
how do I remove Fedora? I tried to burn the ISO image for Mandrake and when I start up the computer it only loads the Fedora Grub....yes, I have "boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5

    Removing Fedora, installing Mandrake


    how do I remove Fedora? I tried to burn the ISO image for Mandrake and when I start up the computer it only loads the Fedora Grub....yes, I have "boot from Cd" in Bios....so I figure I`ll try and remove Fedora totally....how do I do this?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    The cd's must not have burnt correctly if you set the cd drive as the first boot device, and it boots into the hard drive and GRUB.

    Did you check the md5sum's of the mandrake iso's you downloaded?

    Also try and burn the iso images at a slow speed e.g. x4.

    You could also download and burn a Knoppix live cd, and boot it and format the fedora partitions, but it would be easier to just install mandrake over fedora.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5
    well, I burned it with Nautilus, and then it went ok.

    but when I try to use the "CD Writer" program it tells me the ISO`S are 725mb size for some reason

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Have you checked the md5sum of the iso's you downloaded to check the integraty of the iso?
    If not do so.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5
    how do I check the Md5Sum ?

    also, when the ISO has been burned to Cd...shall it be 1 Iso file, or directories and files on it?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    to check the md5sum
    Code:
    md5sum /path/to/mandrake.iso
    replace /path/to/mandrake.iso with the pathon your copt as well as the real .iso file name. Compaire the output with a md5sum file that should be were you downloded the file.

    When you burn the iso as an image to the cd, you should bea ble to see all the files and directories on it, and not just a single .iso file.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    5
    The MD5Sum was correct, but I cannot seem to burn it as Image....I tried to use the "Nautilus" burn feature, but it leaves me with a file around 2 mb....and If I use GnomeToaster it tells me that the ISO file is 725 mb...while in fact it is 691 or something.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Maybe try other cd recording software? CDRecorder

    Also if this doesn't work you can copy the file to a cd and then boot into Windows and copy it onto the windows partition and try and burn it using This Software

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    38
    I burned the SuSE 9.2 ISO on a CD using a program called UltraISO. It's not free, but you can try it out for a long time and it gets the job done correctly!

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    Also if this doesn't work you can copy the file to a cd and then boot into Windows and copy it onto the windows partition and try and burn it using This Software
    A better option that will save you time and a CD is to just mount the windows partition and copy/move the image file to it.
    Code:
    mount /device /mountpoint
    Example: mount /dev/hda1 /mnt/hda1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •