Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
does that noise your modem makes when it dials up get to anyone else, in windows i used to be able to turn it off/quiet, how do i do this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766

    turning off modem noise


    does that noise your modem makes when it dials up get to anyone else, in windows i used to be able to turn it off/quiet, how do i do this in mandrake8.2 (btw, modem is a conextant/rockwell HSF pci 56k)

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    the software you are using to connect should have an option to turn it off, try reading the correct man page

    for example if you are using wvdial

    man wvdial
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! Sykotik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    54
    Send the modem initstring ATM0L0.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    ok im kinda new at this, exactly how do i send the modem a command, ATM im just clicking on the internet button on the desktop and it opens netmonitor and starts dialing.

  5. #5
    Just Joined! Sykotik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    54
    Sorry... I'm an idiot and forgot that you were using some desktop app. I use connect scripts and chat( to send modem commands.

    Look around in the configuration/documentation of whatever you're using... maybe you'll find somewhere where you can set the initstrings? You should be able to.

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    San Antonio
    Posts
    621
    there is probably an INIT STRING type variable in /etc/ppp or /etc/pppd/ somewhere. Change it to start off with that string instead of the usual ATZ0 (I think that is normal). Try `grep ATZ /etc/* -r` that might tell you a file that has it contained within.
    I respectfully decline the invitation to join your delusion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •