Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I tried to install FEDORA CORE3 but when boot from CD I got an error like "CPU Speed can not be adjusted" or "CPU speed" Error. What can be the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    26

    CAN NOT INSTALL FEDORA CORE3 ON MY LAPTOP...


    I tried to install FEDORA CORE3 but when boot from CD I got an error like "CPU Speed can not be adjusted" or "CPU speed" Error. What can be the reason and solution for that? Thanks for help...

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    What kind of CPU do you have, and what is it's speed?
    Also are you trying to install a 64bit version of Fedora on a 32bit proccessor?

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    26

    I have 1.5 Centrino.

    I have 1.5 Ghz Centrino, 512 MB RAM, 64MB ATI Radeon Graphical Card. My machine is a laptop...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    Laptops often support CPU throttling in some capacity, I don't understand why the redhat installer would try to utilize this capability, but its possible that the centrino chipset does not interact well with the redhat installer, can you try a liveboot cd like knoppix and see if its hardware detection can boot properly?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    26

    Knoppix is working fine...

    Knoppix is working fine. Problem is just with FC3. Also as I said FC2 is ok. Is there any new release for FC3 which can fix that problem? Or somethşng else that I can do...

  7. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    What version of FC3 did you download? Are you sure you downloded the version for i386 processors?

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    26

    I am using i386 distrubition...

    I am sure I have downloaded it twice :) . I have downloaded it from REDHAT. Anyway I think I will wait for the next release. For now I will install FC2. Then how can I upgrade my kernel to the latest one? I dont want to use up2date I need another solution. Also I want to delete old files

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    217
    to update your files you can also do:

    Code:
    su
    then:

    Code:
    yum -y update
    it will automatically do everything
    make sure you go through the setup of up2date before trying this code. That setup will help you with what you need to update. hope this helps.

    p.s. to delete a file is

    Code:
    rm (filename)
    Linux is for those who want to know why their computer works.

    Registered Linux Machine #293111
    Registered Linux User #371115

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •