Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey I'm having problems getting this setup to work. I have my XP partition up and running fine. I went to install on the empty space I eft for Fedora(20GBs) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual boot XP/Fedora newbie questions

Hey I'm having problems getting this setup to work. I have my XP partition up and running fine. I went to install on the empty space I eft for Fedora(20GBs) and it installed but I don't know how to get it to boot up. I installed Grub onto the "first sector of the boot partition" and my computer automatically boots into XP. I did a search and tried adding this line to my Windows MBR "c:\boot.lnx="RedHat Fedora Core 3 Project" but it just gave me an error when I tried to boot Fedora. This is my first time using Linux so some help would be very much appreciated. Thanks for any help!

Linux Newbie
    you have to first create the boot.lnx file.

in Linux, do the following :
    $ su
    <root password>
    # dd if=/dev/hda* bs=512 count=1 of=boot.lnx

where /dev/hda* is your boot partition ( usually 100 MB size).

do a "/sbin/fdisk -l" to find out which is your boot partition if u dont know already.
    a file boot.lnx will be created in your working directory. copy that file to
    the primary partition of your HDD (usually drive C:\ of Windows ). The rest I think you have done already, u appended tht ' C:\boot.lnx="RedHat Fedora Core 3 Project" ' line in your C:\boot.ini file rite ??

Linux Newbie
    to be able to use c:\boot.lnx = "Fedora" you have to:
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/hdaX of=/mnt/hdaY/boot.lnx count=1 bs=512
    [where X=your boot partition and Y=your windows partition] from a rescue disk.
    personally i find it much easier to install grub into the MBR and set windows as default if required

Just Joined!