Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I am a complete novice to Linux. I recently installed Mandrake 9.1 and am grappling with the change over from Windows. I must say that i like waht i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hardware Config problems

Hi, I am a complete novice to Linux. I recently installed Mandrake 9.1 and am grappling with the change over from Windows. I must say that i like waht i see so far. I have however two main problems.
    1. My Modum being a controllerless win modum was not detected on installation. I have visited Linuxant.com and downloaded recent drivers and installed them however i cannot see a "device manager" within Mandrake 9.1. How do i manage hardware within this OS?
    PS has anyone been successful with this type of Modum i.e 56K PCI HSF
    ID Ven 127A Device 1025.

2. I cannot get my HP Scanjet 5100 to work, the OS won't recognise it i have tried Scandrake??? and it won't detect it. I have heard that P Port devices don't sit to well with Linux is this true. Is their no hope with this one.

Any reply would be greatly appreciated.
    Tats

Linux Enthusiast
    try running kppp for your modem, if a winmodem works at all, consider yourself lucky

as far as your scanner goes, is it supported by mdk? it might not be detecting it cuz it may not support it.

Linux Guru
    I don't think Linux has any problems with parport devices, at least not that I've heard or experienced. It seems that sane supports your HP 5100, and I suppose that Scandrake uses Sane. I don't use Mdk, though, so I don't know for sure.