Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35
I am attempting to add a 3rd OS to my pc without much luck. I installed Sourcemage to hda5. I added Sourcemage to the menu.lst file in /boot/grub. title Sourcemage ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    GRUB help


    I am attempting to add a 3rd OS to my pc without much luck.
    I installed Sourcemage to hda5.
    I added Sourcemage to the menu.lst file in /boot/grub.

    title Sourcemage
    default 0
    Sourcemage kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title SUSE LINUX 9.2
    kernel (hd0,6)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7 vga=0x31a selinux=0 splash=silent
    resume=/dev/hda6 desktop elevator=as showopts
    initrd (hd0,6)/boot/initrd

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows
    root (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
    title Floppy
    root (fd0)
    chainloader +1

    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- SUSE LINUX 9.2
    kernel (hd0,6)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7 showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=o
    ff vga=normal noresume selinux=0 barrier=off nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 3
    initrd (hd0,6)/boot/initrd

    but when reboot and select Sourcemage, I get an Error 27, command not found.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I think you need to state the initrd for sourcemage, and have a stanza for sourcemage somthing like this:
    title Sourcemage
    default 0
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd-12.4.56.img
    the numbers after initrd will be different, also try it with just

    Code:
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5
    instaed of
    Code:
    Sourcemage kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5
    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Thanks, I will try that.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    O.K, I tried that, no change, I posted on the Sourcemage forum, and I was told to move the default 0 above the title Sourcemage. But, all that did was change the error from 27 to 15(file not found) Dylunio mentioned in an earlier post that I should put an initrd after /boot with some numbers. But, I don't know what numbers I should put in there.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #5
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Dylunio mentioned in an earlier post that I should put an initrd after /boot with some numbers. But, I don't know what numbers I should put in there.
    within your /boot directory there should be a file named initrd, and some numbers afterwards, for instance with my Yoper install the file is named /boot/initrd-2.6.8.1-3.img, so my full entry for Yoper is:
    Code:
    title Yoper
        kernel (hd0,2)/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8.1-3 ro root=/dev/hda3
        initrd (hd0,2)/boot/initrd-2.6.8.1-3.img
    Unlike LiLo I think GrUB has to use the initrd image to boot linux (correct me if I am wrong).

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    So, I need to find out what those numbers are for Sourcemage.

    I went into my /boot directory, and I see these files
    Code:
    .                           initrd-2.6.8-24.11-default
    ..                          message
    backup_mbr                  symvers-2.6.8-24.11-i386-default.gz
    boot                        System.map-2.6.8-24.11-default
    config-2.6.8-24.11-default  vmlinux-2.6.8-24.11-default.gz
    grub                        vmlinuz
    initrd                      vmlinuz-2.6.8-24.11-default
    
    Nothing for Sourcemage.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #7
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Initrd is usually just a symlink to your default initrd.img file. It should work if you point it at /boot/initrd
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  8. #8
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    your stanza for Sourcemage should look like:
    Code:
    title Sourcemage
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd
    that should now work, I do take this is sourcmage's /boot dir...

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  9. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    like this
    Code:
    kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda5
    initrd (hd0,4)/boot/initrd
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #10
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Looks about right.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •