Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi guys i am fed up with windows and want to give linux a try! what version should i use - easy installl is a must (redhat?) I am a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

linux for newbies?

hi guys
    i am fed up with windows and want to give linux a try! what version should i use - easy installl is a must (redhat?)

I am a big time newbie so bear that in mind........as little hands on as possible!

can u guys tell me some common linux terms cuz most of the stuff i read on here i am like huh?

Linux User
    what version you pick always starts a big argument

I would say redhat, 8.0 is pretty easy to install and fairly easy to maintain - up2date is easy and keeps your current plus there are alot of docs out there on redhat.

Download and install - you can come here if you have any specific questions once you get started. Good luck

www.redhat.com has some install guides and such, but especially if you have fairly modern/normal hardware it will detect it and do it for you. A modem could be a problem, how do you connect to the internet?
    majorwoo

Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

Linux Enthusiast
    common linux terms. Hmm... I will add/edit this as I think of them.
    man page: is a manual page that shows up when you type `man $programname` into a terminal
    terminal: Kind of like the dos command line, only it uses different commands, like cp instead of copy and ls instead of dir.
    $anything: a variable that we don't know, that is specific to you. Like $path_to_file is probably going to be the path to a file you ask questions on, or $eth_card will probably be and ethernet card that you are referring to, that might be either eth1 or eth0 or something.
    ethernet card: It looks like a modem, but with only one jack in the back, that is larger than modem jacks. It works (kind of) like a modem, as it transfers data between whatever it is hooked up to