Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have recently added a couple of distros to my backup system, so here are my specs: cel 500 288 mb pc100 30G hd and right now I have things ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556

    swap and multiboot scenario


    I have recently added a couple of distros to my backup system, so here are my specs:

    cel 500
    288 mb pc100
    30G hd


    and right now I have things set up like this:

    280mb swap
    7G College Linux - lilo installed and boots CL only
    6G Elx Linux - bootdisk used to boot
    6G jamD linux - bootdisk used to boot
    rest is unallocated space

    the question I have is whether or not I need a swap partition at all.

    I am considering adding another distro - SuSe 8.2 prob (see if I can get apt-get to work in it) Anyway, these are all primary partitions and I want to leave them that way. I know that I can create a logical partition to add another distro, but I would prefer to deal with all primaries as lilo has really messed things up before and I have been forced to reinstall CL a couple of times.

    So, what I am thinking is that if I delete the swap partition, it will free up a primary so I can create another partition for SuSE to use as root.

    I will have to be careful with SuSE also cuz I don't want a different bootloader installed. As much as I can't stand lilo, it seems to be the only way I can easily boot into CL.

    Thoughts, suggestions?

    Thanks in advance. BTW, I plan to watch my system monitors to see how much of my swap is used up to give me an idea, but I am not sure how accurate that would be in determining the usage.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You could probably do fine without swap. One of my RAM banks broke, and before I replaced it, I had 256 MB for a while. Most of the time it didn't use any swap at all, and when it did, I'm pretty sure it just swapped out unused pages in favor of cache. And I guess you'll notice if you run out of RAM.

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    yes, that's what I was thinking, thanks for consolidating.

    something else arises from that however;

    if I delete that swap partition, does that change the numbering of my other partitions at all?
    it's important to know that since I am using at least 2 bootdisks and probably a third for SuSE.

    part of me gets this feeling that because it is swap, it shouldn't change anything, but another part of me thinks I had better make sure.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Nope, that doesn't change anything. Had it been an logical partition, it would have, but primary partitions never change numbering whatever you do.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    ok, thanks a lot.

    I have verfied some other things regarding software in SuSE so I am ready to try it again.

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    got it installing now

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •