Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I'm new to Linux and was recently given a old PC (PII, 9GB) with Red Hat installed on it...I'd like to learn to use it but in the meantime ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual Boot

Hi,

I'm new to Linux and was recently given a old PC (PII, 9GB) with Red Hat installed on it...I'd like to learn to use it but in the meantime I'd like to have WIndows installed as well. Can I install windows after linux or do I need to unistall linux and start from the beginning??

Thanks

Linux User
    im not exactly sure if you can install windows after. i hear that if you do it will mess up the boot sector. but if you have the linux disks you can just try and see. otherwise wait for someone here who is more knowledged on this matter to reply.

Linux Guru
    It is indeed possible, but it's not the easiest thing in the world. The main thing is that if the Linux partitions take up the entire drive (which they probably do), you will need to shrink them first, and since one cannot resize a mounted ext2 filesystem, it won't be possible to resize the root filesystem outside rescue mode or the like. In Linux, can you log in as root and post the output of the following commands?
    Code:
    fdisk -l /dev/hda
    mount
    Then there is the boot loader issue (ie. the problem that Windows overwrites any existing boot loader with its own crappy one, whether you want it to or not) as well, but that's not as problematic. GRUB can be reinstalled very easily, and LILO as at least rather easy to reinstall. Can you check if it's using GRUB or LILO. If you don't know how, just describe what your boot loader screen looks like (ie. what is displayed right after the BIOS has completed its stuff).