Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, I had installed Fedora Core 2 in my PC (with Pentium-iii Processor) and it has been running well under GUI since installation. There were on problem while using Graphcal ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calcutta, India.
    Posts
    17

    No graphical install screen for FC3 only vertical hazy bars


    Hi,
    I had installed Fedora Core 2 in my PC (with Pentium-iii Processor) and it has been running well under GUI since installation. There were on problem while using Graphcal installtion screen in order to install Fedora Core 2. But while I was installing Fedora Core 3 I only got many vertical hazy and different color bars after media test and Processor, Monitor, and Mouse Probing :( . I have Sumsung Samtron Monitor, with 256MB RAM in 2 Slots (128+128=256). I want ti install Fedora Core 3 with windows-98 duel boot system as it was with my Fedora Core 2 Linux. Will anybody help me please? I am newbie to the vast world of Linux, Please guide me :(

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Barrie, Ontario
    Posts
    219
    I've had many problems with Fedora's GUI installer. In your case, it sounds like it's using a resolution that your monitor can't handle. You may need to do the install in text mode, then configure and start XWindows afterwards.
    Blog - KB5UMQ - Linux User #272983
    3 Rules:
    1) "It doesn't work..." is simply not useful information.
    2) Don't cross post!
    3) If you are asking for help, start by telling us your distro/os and version.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calcutta, India.
    Posts
    17
    Kode... Thanks for your reply. But I want to inform you that I was just moving around with the verius option with the Installer CD. Suddenly I find that the graphical installer was working. To confirm that, it was actually working I rebooted the machine and just want to install in it regular way. But alas!! The same prblem I mentioned before arose again. However, I will try to upgrade my FC2 system with the text base installer. Do you think that it will do any hazards after installtions. I am very much confused.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bangalore, INDIA
    Posts
    122

    pcq linux

    hi
    i installed pcq linux(improvised fc3 with pcq goodies) it has the best gui to install linux .

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Calcutta, India.
    Posts
    17

    PCQ Linux

    mohit Thanks for your reply. But can you tell me that if PCQ Linux is Stable enough as Fedora Core 3 ??? I think Fedora 3 could be more powerful that PCQ Linux, however I had not used it still now but I have the copy of PCQLinux 2005. What is your Suggestion?

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Bangalore, INDIA
    Posts
    122
    basically(actually) it is FC3 code..
    the thing here is the u won't have to download any other stuff like
    k3b or gaim etc,etc.........

    bye
    Portability is for people who cannot programme

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •