Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I tried to install Red Hat Linux, and it does not want to boot from a CD I've enabled this in my BIOS. This is not just the Red Hat ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    5

    CD Not Booting


    I tried to install Red Hat Linux, and it does not want to boot from a CD

    I've enabled this in my BIOS. This is not just the Red Hat CD, because Windows XP, Windows 2003, Windows ME CDs will not work either.

    This may be because, I recently bought a cheap DVD-RW Burner, and the computer won't recognize it, on boot-up.
    If this is so, is there a program that boots the CD, on a floppy disk?

    - ianu

    EDIT: I can't find a way to wipe my hard drive, either. I have an "Ultimant Boot Disk", which contains 3 HDD Wiping tools, but I can't boot off of that, either.... lol

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    5
    uhhhh, I found the answer.... and it was in a sticky

    Sorry 'bout that

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    5
    I just tried that Smart Boot Manager program, and my Windows Server 2003 NTFS hard drive won't let the program write to it. It says;

    "C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe -sbminst -t us -d 128
    An application has attempted to directly access the hard disk, which cannot be supported...."

    What should I do?

    EDIT: I tried using the support tool, but it just says;
    "Protective mode not avalible"

    I'm screwed!

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    forums.gentoo.org
    Posts
    1,817
    I apologize if you've already covered this, but I'll help where I can. Did you check the jumper setting on your new CD/RW? If it's connected to the same cable as a hard drive, the hard drive should be jumpered to be "master" and the CD/RW should be jumpered to be "slave". If they are both master or both slave, results can be unpredictable. And many people recommend against having a master CD on the same IDE channel as a slave hard drive.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    5
    Thank you, so much!

    I forgot to set the jumpers correctly... :P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •