Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hi everyone ,im new to linux i was getting ready to install mepis so i opened qt parted and went to make my first partition EXT3 for primary root and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

need help qt parted

hi everyone ,im new to linux i was getting ready to install mepis so i opened qt parted and went to make my first partition EXT3 for primary root and i made it to big at 12GB AND ALREADY COMITED IT now theres no option to undo i only wanted to make it 6GB,and when i go back into windows it doesnt see that 12GB of the hard drive any more.is there any way to recover that 12GB and start again ...thanks ,oh and that part of the hard drive has no nodata on it .

Windows can't see ext3 formated filesystems, if you want windows and linux to read it make it FAT32, but install linux on an ext3 (or ext2, or reiser) filesystem, so next time make a 6GB ext3 partition and a 6GB FAT32 partition for you to share files between Linux and Windows.

dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Just Joined!

qt parted

hi Dylunio,is there a way to undo what i did and start over thanks

There is no way to 'undo' what you have done, but you can make the partition smaller using QTParted, right click on the partitionm -> resize and you can make it smaller, back to 6GB.

If you want Windows to see the whole 12GB part of the hard drive format that partition as FAT32. And then you can restart.

dylunio
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

Just Joined!

qt parted

hi Dylunio,thanks ill try that

Just Joined!

qt parted