Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello Everybody.. I have got WIN XP HOME SP2 on a 4-partitioned 40GB harddisk..How do I install SuSE Linux 9.1 on my computer? Moreover, will my computer ask me which ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!
    Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

How to install SuSE Linux 9.1 from CD?

Hello Everybody.. I have got WIN XP HOME SP2 on a 4-partitioned 40GB harddisk..How do I install SuSE Linux 9.1 on my computer? Moreover, will my computer ask me which O.S. to open whiele booting.. I am a complete newbie to LINUX.. Plz help...

Just Joined!

I forgot to add..

Oh! yes, I forgot to add that I have SuSE 9.1 on a CD.. Plz help me install it...
    >> Siddhartha

Just Joined!
    Well //siddhartha// you will be disappointed to know that I don't use SuSE at all (no reason, I'm just happy at the moment with my present distos). But I can help you get started.

You can install SuSE from the CD on the same PC alongside Windows XP but in a different partition. When you try to install SuSE (it uses an installer called YAST) you will be given the opportunity to repartition your hard drive. You obviously know how to deal with partitions so that should not worry you one bit.

The installation will need at least about 500 mb but you will probably want to use something like 2Gb. The install might take between 30 to 45 minutes.

After installing SuSE when booting you will be offered the choice of Windows or SuSE.

Good luck.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    To add to what sealfood said, to start the install put the cd in the cd drive, and then re-boot the computer, if the installer soesn't start, reboot again and go into the BIOS with a key such as Del, Esc, F1, F2, F12 at bootup, and change your boot sequence so that the cd rom drive boots first.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2