Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm trying to dual boot Fedora Core 3 on to a machine with windows 98 already installed. Partitioning is all fine, Fedora installs, but then I hit a problem. I'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual-booting Win98 and FC3

I'm trying to dual boot Fedora Core 3 on to a machine with windows 98 already installed. Partitioning is all fine, Fedora installs, but then I hit a problem.

I'm not well aware of the internal workings of operating systems, or the BIOS. I'm new to linux, too.

So I was shocked and surprised when the BIOD sort of hung on loading GRUB. I talked to a IT person I know, and they told me that Windows 98 likes to use the MBR to store stuff, and get stuff wiped out by GRUB. GRUB doesn't like the windows stuff, so it doesn't load. I managed to fix the MBR so windows can boot, but I cannot boot linux.

I'd like to know what I should do to try and dual-boot FC3 and Windows 98. I haven't ever used linux before, and I'm trying to make the switch, so I'm sort of lost. Is there some way to set up a linux boot disk and use it to boot the OS?

I've tried searching around on the internet, but I haven't understood most of the stuff I've found, or it's about dual booting various versions of windows together.

Thanks for your time. I've probably asked a highly ignorant question.

Just Joined!
    I wrote a tutorial last night on this very problem. My tutorial explains how to write GRUB back to the MBR and then add the Windows installation to the OS Selection options. Here is the link:

http://home.triad.rr.com/theviaster/...r-from-win.txt

I apologize for spelling and grammar in this tutorial...I was up late!

Just Joined!
    I don't mean to sound ungrateful, but that's in a different situation, using a different windows version, and a different problem.

Just to clarify: