Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i just now finished the installation of SuSE, and imediately ran into problems. GRUB seemed to have a odd error on boot (title of this thread). I can still boot ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Not-So-Sunny Hawaii
    Posts
    27

    GRUB Geom Error


    i just now finished the installation of SuSE, and imediately ran into problems. GRUB seemed to have a odd error on boot (title of this thread).

    I can still boot into SuSE by putting in CD 1, selecting Manual Install, and saying to boot an existing OS (not sure how i figured that out ), but i can't boot into windows form that method, and it takes forever for SuSE to detect hardware, just to get to that menu.

    I ran the "repair" utility, and it didn't find anything wrong (except for a few missing packages, not aving to do with GRUB).

    What have i gotten myself into?!?!?

    any help is much appreciated...

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    what error message (exactly) do you get when trying to boot through grub? And do you get this before or after the grub menu?

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Not-So-Sunny Hawaii
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by Nerderello
    what error message (exactly) do you get when trying to boot through grub? And do you get this before or after the grub menu?

    Nerderello
    it boots, and all the screen says it "GRUB Geom Error_"... i never get to the grub menu

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    see if this applies :-


    http://portal.suse.com/sdb/en/2003/0...eom-error.html



    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Not-So-Sunny Hawaii
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by Nerderello
    i can use google, too

    i looked at the site again, and could not seem to find anything that would be a cause- except:

    i have a hunch that it has something to do with the "hidden partition", known as the pre-desktop area... but i don't know how to solve it...

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    sorry about that, but an amazing number of people can't (seem to use google).

    You might want to attack this one from a Laptop point of view, and see if there is anything there that can help.

    Sorry I couldn't be of more use

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Not-So-Sunny Hawaii
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by Nerderello
    sorry about that, but an amazing number of people can't (seem to use google).

    You might want to attack this one from a Laptop point of view, and see if there is anything there that can help.

    Sorry I couldn't be of more use

    Nerderello
    not your fault... i have been searching for a few days and can't find anything of substance (except for possibly using the Win XP boot manager )...

    i am beginning to fear that i might not be able to get back my windows partition. I have backed up my program files, my documents, and application data... but i have done extensive tweaking on Windows in the years that i've had it, and i don't want to lose it all...

    Forntuantely, i can still boot into linux (using the install CD)

    EDIT

    i think i've found something... for some reason, YaST won't let me chnage anything about the boot loader config... related?

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    not usre. I usually edit the /boot/grub/grub.conf files (as root / su-) without resort to friendly GUIs.

    I'm not, to be honest, convinced that you have an "normal" grub problem (like the sort I wrote the howto for in the tutorila section of this forum). Your geom error does not appear in any of the grub docs that I've read, which is why I thought, you may have an odd laptop type problem (perhaps http://www.linux-laptop.net/ may help).

    good luck

    Nerderello

    ps. there is some stuff about getting rid of grub from your disk's mbr here - http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...rial-3573.html


    [For Windows XP, boot from the install CD and enter the Recovery Console. Then issue the command:
    Code:
    bootcfg /rebuild
    ]

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •