Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
I recently upgraded to the new k3b and it requires/suggests that I enable scsi emulation on both of my cd rom drives: dvd rom and cd writer. When I look ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556

    cdrom mounting issue


    I recently upgraded to the new k3b and it requires/suggests that I enable scsi emulation on both of my cd rom drives: dvd rom and cd writer. When I look in my hardware browser, it shows them as being /dev/scd0 and /dev/scd1.

    the issue that has come up is that my cd rom desktop icons don't seem to work that well.
    when I put a cd into my burner, the light just flashes really fast and I can't eject it but I can't see where it is mounted either (if it is).

    ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Did you update your fstab to point to the SCSI CD devices instead?

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    yes, I tried that and changed the devices to scd0 and scd1 for the icons and that didn't work either.

    im not sure if it makes a difference but it is just scsi emulation for the drives, they are not actual scsi drives.

    previously I had my writer in my fstab as /dev/cdrom1 with scsi emulation in grub and it was working fine. I don't know why they aren't now.

    so, let's consolidate what should be in the fstab and go from there.

    right now (I have changed it back) I have this for my roms:

    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
    /dev/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1

    I also tried:

    /dev/scd0 /mnt/cdrom
    /dev/scd1 /mnt/cdrom1


    They are listed in my hardware browser as /dev/scd0 and /dev/scd1 respectively so I would think the previous example would work. If that is so, I will try it again and see if I can get my icons to work.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Oh yeah, did you update the /dev/cdrom* symlinks?

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    if you mean:

    ln -s /dev/scd0 /dev/cdrom
    ln -s /dev/scd1 /dev/cdrom1

    then yes

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Oh well, I had to check, didn't I? Even the best can forget trivial things from time to time.
    Apart from the desktop icons, do the CD-ROMs work as they should?

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    my dvd rom mounts at /mnt/cdrom1
    it should be mounting at /mnt/cdrom

    I can't seem to get my burner to mount, even in cli

    I figured out why it's screwing up - it's the new version of k3b - it has my drives ass backwards.

    It has the mount device for the dvd rom as /dev/cdrom1 and the writer as /dev/cdrom and it won't let me change them. I was able to change the mount points though to correspond with that the k3b setup had.

    what should I have in my fstab then?

    /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom
    /dec/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1

    or should I be using /dev/scd0 and /dev/scd1 I would think the former as my roms are not true scsi devices but emulated as such.

    when i try to click on the icons to mount, I get an error saying that only root can mount /dev/cdrom on /mnt/cdrom

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Check which is which by running "eject /dev/scd0". Does that eject the DVD or the burner? Also, am I right by guessing that the DVD-ROM is the secondary master?

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    yes, I checked both of those and they worked the way they should.

    dvd rom - sec master
    writer - sec slave

    so, my question is - do I need to change my fstab?
    It seemed to work ok before with my burner as cdrom1 and it was emulated as scsi, but perhaps should be doing this:

    /dev/scd0 /mnt/cdrom
    /dev/scd1 /mnt/cdrom1

    right?

    or just use symlinks? cause those don't seem to be working unless I am doing something wrong.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You shouldn't have to change your fstab if you're using symlinks. That is, of course, the advantage of symlinking your CD-ROMs, ie. that you always have one name (/dev/cdrom) that always works.
    How do you mean that it worked? Which tray got ejected when you did eject /dev/scd0?
    Check also that pam_console has been configured to set up the correct permissions on /dev/scd[01]. I think much of that magicdev-like code opens the devices directly, and therefore they naturally need permissions to do so.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •