Find the answer to your Linux question:
hiya, Im downloading the Debian .iso's at the moment, i have never done an "all CD" install of debian before, normally just used the 1st CD then done a network ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux Guru

how many Debian ISO's do i need?

hiya,

Im downloading the Debian .iso's at the moment, i have never done an "all CD" install of debian before, normally just used the 1st CD then done a network install.

Anyway, how many of the 7 CD's do i need to download to my my system up an running with X, and all the usual extras?

Cheers,

Jason

Just Joined!

Re: how many Debian ISO's do i need?

Quote Originally Posted by Jaguar
    hiya,

Im downloading the Debian .iso's at the moment, i have never done an "all CD" install of debian before, normally just used the 1st CD then done a network install.

Anyway, how many of the 7 CD's do i need to download to my my system up an running with X, and all the usual extras?

Cheers,

Jason
    i imagine only one of the boot cd's, then 6, and 7, if you really want them.

i downloaded all the cd's, as well as all the FreeBSD, Slackware, Knoppix, Redhat, and Mandrake CD's when i downloaded linux ISO's... then i burned all of them to cd. my cd wallet got a bit thicker after that.

You can install X and a desktop using ISO 1, And then when your are installing you can just add another apt source but use http insted of a cd-rom. So if the cdrom hasnt got the package it will just download it from the mirror you selected

Linux Guru
    cheers people.

Im 50% through the last .iso now

I wasnt sure what was on the CD's so i got all of them. for example, to get a redhat system going you need 3 CD's, and that covers pretty much everything. you then have another CD for Documentation, and another CD for something else, ive forgotten what.