Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi! Guys, I am having a problem after installing UBUNTU. Actually, when I start the O.S., in the tests it says OK to all tests except one called something like ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
    Posts
    21

    UBUNTU startup problem


    Hi! Guys,
    I am having a problem after installing UBUNTU.
    Actually, when I start the O.S., in the tests it says OK to all tests except one called something like "temporary name resolution" . Moreover, it fails to start the X Server, due to which there is no visual interface.
    Moreover, when asked for username and password, I enter the username, but when password is asked and I type anything on the keyboard nothing appears on the screen (not even asterisks ******). Even then, I entered the username and password set up during the installation and yet it said incorrect.So, I just restarted the computer and went to my Win XP.
    When using the live CDof UBUNTU, I was faced with a problem that the screen would not load and the monitor would go to standby position, but then I added a line in the commands "x hsync=a vsync=b" where a is my Horizontal Screen frequency and b is my Vertical Screen frequency. I think the X Server does not load because of some screen resolution problems.. HOw can I modify the commands so as to start the X Server and finally, what about entering the password.. Plz help..

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    As for your password, nothing should appear when you are typing it in, but once you have typed it in and pressed enter you should login.

    You need to fix your Xserver settings to do this loggin and type
    Code:
    sudo pico /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
    (note: you might be asked for a password now, enter it and press enter to edit the file).

    Once you are in pico you munst edit the X configuration file, scroll down untill you get to the bit about your monitor and change the Horizontale and Vertical Frequency to ones that match your monitor. Now save with Ctrl+O, and exit with Ctrl+X.

    Now start graphics with
    Code:
    startx
    I hope this helps.

    dylunio

    Note about Ubuntu: Just incase you don't know, Ubuntu deosn't have a root user, it rather uses the sudo command, to run command as root do
    Code:
    sudo command
    and it will ask for your password (if you havent entered it in the last 15 minutes), and then run the command.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
    Posts
    21

    But it says LOGIN INCORRECT ! !

    Even when I type the user name and password correctly and press ENTER, it says LOGIN INCORRECT ! !

  4. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Hmm, I had this problem, and I just re-installed sicne it was the easyest thing for me to do. I think the reason for this was that when I set the username and password I make a mistake and backspaced a key, and this seems to have messed the whole thing up.

    Another option you might concider is to boot a live cd, mount your ubuntu partition and then go to the command line in the live cd and do
    Code:
    chroot /mnt/ubuntu
    (replace /mnt/ubuntu with the mountpoint), and then you will be within ubuntu, here type
    Code:
    su [username]
    passwd [username]
    and enter a new password, and then try and boot with that.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
    Posts
    21

    I will try, THANX dylunio but one more Question

    THANX dylunio, I will try this now but one more question, if possible answer quickly bcoz I will log off in a few minutes...
    How to replace /mnt/ubuntu with the mountpoint.? BTW what is mountpoint?
    I installed UBUNTU by Automatic partition of E: i.e. hda6. And perhaps, UBUNTU partitioned it into SWAP and another partition for LINUX. Now which one is SWAP and which one is disk space?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Bootup the live cd and do:
    Code:
    mount /dev/hda6 /mnt
    in a terminal and then do
    Code:
    chroot /mnt
    and then do as I said to do with the password.

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
    Posts
    21

    New probs..

    Hi! Guys,
    I reinstalled UBUNTU and successfully logged in this time.

    Again it failed to load XServer. So, I wrote the command:
    sudo pico /etc/X11/XF86Config-4
    I configured my horizontal and vertical frequencies for the monitor. And saved it by Ctrl+O and exited by Ctrl+X as said my @dylunio.
    But when I gave the command:
    startx
    it still was not able to start XServer. What should I do now? On start up, it still shows one test fail. It is something of "NAME RESOLUTION" and also shows some 5 errors or something (regarding my sound devices, etc..
    What can be the problem???
    Plz help....

  8. #8
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Hmm, would it be possible for you to post the screen section as well as the graphics card section of your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file?

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
    Posts
    21

    I am going to do that...

    Just wait for some time, I will log off see the settings and then post it here...
    >> Siddhartha

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry
    Posts
    21

    The XF86Config-4 file

    Hi! dylunio I just ran the LIVE CD, opened the file /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 in a Text editor and saved it in my F: . Now, it is a bit clumsy when I opened it in NOTEPAD. But, I won't mess with it and show it to you as it is.. Plz find out any errors... (I have edited it during Start Up as said by you and the horizontal freq. and verical freq. are that of my monitor..
    Code:
    # XF86Config-4 (XFree86 X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the XF86Config-4 manual page.
    # (Type "man XF86Config-4" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xfree86 package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xfree86
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following commands as root:
    #
    #   cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /etc/X11/XF86Config-4.custom
    #   md5sum /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 >/var/lib/xfree86/XF86Config-4.md5sum
    #   dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86
    
    Section "Files"
    	FontPath	"unix/:7100"			# local font server
    	# if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
            # paths to defoma fonts
    	FontPath	"/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    	FontPath	"/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/CID"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load	"GLcore"
    	Load	"bitmap"
    	Load	"dbe"
    	Load	"ddc"
    	Load	"dri"
    	Load	"extmod"
    	Load	"freetype"
    	Load	"glx"
    	Load	"int10"
    	Load	"record"
    	Load	"speedo"
    	Load	"type1"
    	Load	"v4l"
    	Load	"vbe"
    	Load	"xtt"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
    	Driver		"keyboard"
    	Option		"CoreKeyboard"
    	Option		"XkbRules"	"xfree86"
    	Option		"XkbModel"	"pc104"
    	Option		"XkbLayout"	"us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Configured Mouse"
    	Driver		"mouse"
    	Option		"CorePointer"
    	Option		"Device"		"/dev/input/mice"
    	Option		"Protocol"		"ImPS/2"
    	Option		"Emulate3Buttons"	"true"
    	Option		"ZAxisMapping"		"4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"NVIDIA Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro]"
    	Driver		"nv"
    	BusID		"PCI:1:0:0"
    	Option		"UseFBDev"		"true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Generic Monitor"
    	HorizSync	30-54
    	VertRefresh	50-120
    	Option		"DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	Device		"NVIDIA Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro]"
    	Monitor		"Generic Monitor"
    	DefaultDepth	24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		1
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		4
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		8
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		15
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		16
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400"
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		24
    		Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480" "640x400"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier	"Default Layout"
    	Screen		"Default Screen"
    	InputDevice	"Generic Keyboard"
    	InputDevice	"Configured Mouse"
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Mode	0666
    EndSection
    Plz see if there is anything wrong...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •