Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I just installed Yoper. And I did not install a bootloader, I was just going to add Yoper to the menu.lst file in SUSE. But, after installing Yoper and rebooting, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242

    major grub problem


    I just installed Yoper. And I did not install a bootloader, I was just going to add Yoper to the menu.lst file in SUSE.

    But, after installing Yoper and rebooting, all I get is a GRUB> prompt. When I type [codefind /boot/grub/stage1][/code]
    I get Error 15, file not found.
    This is my menu.lst file
    Code:
    gfxmenu (hd0,3)/boot/message
    title slackware10.1
     kernel (hd0,5)/boot/vmlinuz-ide-2.4.29 ro  root=/dev/hda6
    
    title Sourcemage
     kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinubz-2.6.11.2 root=/dev/hda5
    
    title Sourcemage 2.6.8.1
     kernel (hd0,4)/boot/vmlinubz-2.6.8.1 root=/dev/hda5
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
    title SUSE LINUX 9.2
        kernel (hd0,3)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda4 vga=0x31a selinux=0 splash=silent resume=/
    dev/hda3 desktop elevator=as showopts
        initrd (hd0,3)/boot/initrd
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
    title Windows
        root (hd0,0)
        chainloader +1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
    title Floppy
        root (fd0)
        chainloader +1
    
    ###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
    title Failsafe -- SUSE LINUX 9.2
        kernel (hd0,3)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda4 showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off vga=no
    rmal noresume selinux=0 barrier=off nosmp noapic maxcpus=0  3
    :
    And everything is right. All of the partitions are where they are supposed to be.

    Your help is appreciated.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I would use the SuSE CD 1 as a rescue to re-install grub to the MBR, pointing to your SuSE /boot/grub/menu.lst.
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Using the "rescue" option on the dvd, I could not figure it out. So, I was going to update SUSE and see if it would repair GRUB that way. But when I looked at the options that were there, one of the options was to boot an installed system. And that worked great.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Well, it worked great to get me into the system, but still no joy when I reboot So I used the repair option to repair the bootloader. But, still no joy I did see an optiion to activate the bootloader partition, so I did that. I go now to see if it worked.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    no joy
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I tried using the SUSE dvd to repair GRUB. The SUSE dvd said it successfuly repaired the MBR. So, I rebooted. Result=GRUB>.

    So, I came to the conclusion that GRUB was hopelessly damaged beyond repair. So, I used my Win98 boot disk and did fdisk /mbr. Removing GRUB.

    Then I went back to the SUSE dvd, and repaired GRUB again. And again I was told that the MBR was successfully repaired. Reboot, result=GRUB>.

    I am out of ideas, short of reinstalling SUSE.

    Your help is appreciated.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #7
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    When you have the grub prompt, will it boot if you enter
    Code:
    kernel (hd0,3)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda4
    ?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  9. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I get error 1, Filename must be either an absolute filename or blocklist.

    The syntax is correct though. I had it written down.

    I was reading Nerderello's GRUB tut and he says there is a way to reinstall GRUB from within Linux. I am going to try that.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #9
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    Sorry; try it without the root= part.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  11. #10
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    If I try
    Code:
    kernel (hd0,3)  /boot/vmlinuz
    I get error 1

    If I try
    Code:
    kernel (hd0,3)/boot/vmlinuz
    I get error 18 Selected cylinder exceeds maximum supported by BIOS
    Which is really confusing

    If I try in a console
    Code:
    grub-install /dev/hda
    When I reboot i get error 18, but no GRUB prompt, it just hangs.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •