Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi All, I'm new to this forum, looked for answers for my specific problem since I havent found one, i'm posting it here... I had a Win 98 OS, I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Mandrake Linux 7.1 Boot Problem

Hi All, I'm new to this forum, looked for answers for my specific problem since I havent found one, i'm posting it here...

I had a Win 98 OS, I used Partition magic 8 to create 2 partitions on my HD and installed Mandrake Linux 7.0, it was fine till I upgraded 98 to Win XP. Now i'm not able to bring up my linux OS. I dont get a dual boot screen like i used to previously, since I guess XP changed the MBR. I dont have a linux boot CD also. So do I have to install Linux again, or can I recover it using any alternate means ? If I have to use a Linux boot CD, is anything available on the web for free ?

I'm new to Linux OS and I would very much appreciate your responses. Pls help !!

Do you have your Mandrake installation cd? That should have the ability to be used as a rescue disk. Or, you can dl the Mandrake 10.1 official from www.distrowatch.com, and use it as an upgrade or installation.

Hope this helps.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

Linux Guru
    With a little research and effort, and maybe a couple of posts here, you can create a Grub boot floppy disk and get to your Linux from there. Start by reading nerderello's Grub tutorial in the tutorials section of these forums.

You will first create a Grub floppy. Then you will identify your boot files. You will create a text file (grub.conf) in your Linux /boot directory. Finally, you will run Grub and create a new Grub boot floppy with pointers to your /boot files.

After which, you will be able to boot directly to Linux with the new boot floppy.
    /IMHO
    //got nothin'
    ///this use to look better