Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
you should edit your XF86Config file located at /etc/X11/XF86Config go teh the monitor section and make sure you hav ethe correct horz. and vert. sync rates in....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255

    you should edit your XF86Config file

    located at /etc/X11/XF86Config

    go teh the monitor section and make sure you hav ethe correct horz. and vert. sync rates in.
    Live in the sunshine, swim the sea, drink the wild air...

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    17
    mado can i use pico to edit this file? oh and i get this when i long in

    you have mail

    as you grow older you will still do foolish things, but you will do them whit much more entusiasim

    -- the cowboy

    did i dl some jobe not slackware

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    To see your mail just type mail.

  4. #14
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    137
    Right guys... i need help with something with this Slackware 9 installation. When proceeding to install the bare.i kernel without a bootdisk (i really need to get a new floppy drive) but anywho .. i end up getting an error while it is trying to load something.

    Code:
     Disk Error 80, AX = 4 23D, Drive 9F
    Now I tried searching google, and couldn't find squat. hopefully someone may have an answer for me, or am i doomed to be stuck with RH and Mdk! noo0o0o0ooo!!
    Quickdraw returns ... more news at 11!

    I like to try all flavors of the rainbow. Running SuSE 10.1 on my laptop, Windows XP on my desktop, and an Mac OS X on my Mac powerbook.

  5. #15
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    Having googled this error message, the only thing which remotly relates it a bios problem, and it was advised to flash the bios (upgrade it).

    Jason

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    137
    you can update the Bios? i have an ancient looking one from back in the day. how exactly would one go about doing that?

    yea ... i figured it was something now about slackware either after going back to google ( http://www.google.com/linux ) and doing another search, cause people were saying similiar things about their harddrives and what not, even though i couldn't understand half of it.
    Quickdraw returns ... more news at 11!

    I like to try all flavors of the rainbow. Running SuSE 10.1 on my laptop, Windows XP on my desktop, and an Mac OS X on my Mac powerbook.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •