Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hi all, i have been using linux for 2 years, & until now i'm not so familiar with disk partitions! i always managed to create a "/" & "swap" partitions ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

disk partitioning

hi all,
    i have been using linux for 2 years, & until now i'm not so familiar with disk partitions! i always managed to create a "/" & "swap" partitions ...
    can you explain me what every partition do & used for? & when such a partition is needed?

thnx a lot

Linux Enthusiast
    well, those are the two basics, anything else you create (primary) can be salvaged in case you want to try something else.

most commonly people tend to create separate partitions for /home and /usr if they do at all.

Linux Guru
    In former days, you had to have a boot partition first on the drive, since BIOSes without LBA support couldn't read the kernel if it was further into the disk than the 1024th cylinder. Nowadays, all BIOSes support LBA anyway, so that's not a worry.

It can be a good thing to create a partition for /home, so that if you want to try a new distro, you can just format the root partition and still keep your home directory and all the settings in it. As for me, I mount /home over NFS, and on the server it is a LVM volume that spans two hard drives. I didn't combine it with the root filesystem, since that would complicate maintenence enormously.

If you want a high-security system, you might want to have a seperate partition for /tmp. Since many, if not most, worms put executables in /tmp which it later runs, it's good to be able to mount /tmp with noexec.