Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all, I'm a newbie. I've set my swap file to 640Mb, as this is twice the size of the amount of RAM that I have(320Mb). Is this total overkill ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

swap file size question

Hi all, I'm a newbie. I've set my swap file to 640Mb, as this is twice the size of the amount of RAM that I have(320Mb). Is this total overkill or not, and if so, what is an appropriate size? If it means repartitioning and reloading linux,I am totally prepared to do this ie no harm done.
    Cheers, John

Linux Guru
    Technically, there is no such thing as overkill with swap. It just a matter of how much hard drive space you think it's worth wasting. There is no other harm done in adding much swap.
    There is really just one guideline to follow: The sum of RAM and swap is the amount of memory avaliable to your system, in your case almost 1 GB. In reality, only enterprise-level servers or scientific simulation computers use that much memory, but if you don't miss the hard disk space really much, it doesn't hurt, either.
    With 320 MB of RAM, it's very possible that the swap space isn't used at all, but if it would be needed by anything, it's a really good thing. There are also buggy programs with memory leaks that just grow if you don't restart them, and having lots of memory at least hinders the kernel from killing when memory gets tight (although most programs require pretty much time to grow to 320 MB, not to mention 1 GB). I believe that nVidia's userspace drivers have memory leaks, since my X server keeps on growing. I have 512 MB of RAM, but X sees to it that the swap is used anyway.

Linux Enthusiast
    yes, for 2.x kernels 2 * ram = swap. With 3.0 (2.6?) kernel coming up here soon they have a different implimentation of the swapping algorithm that needs only swap = ram.