Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi! Right now i'm in knoppix, so i can get to the 'net ... i just installed Debian linux 3.0 r1 the linux flavor (default) .... made SURE that it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

X windows and a new linux install

Hi! Right now i'm in knoppix, so i can get to the 'net ... i just installed Debian linux 3.0 r1 the linux flavor (default) .... made SURE that it installed x windows, KDE, and GNOME.

However, even so, i'm stuck at the command prompt, with no idea how to get x-windows to start!
    X-init gives me errors (don't remember them all ...) such as no screen and such - but linux itself works just fine on my system (works ok with knoppix)

Anyone know what could be wrong?

NOTE: i will do my utmost to try to get any information you need. However, i'm a noob, so i have really no idea what i'm doing. I did not do ANYTHING except install it and apt-get aptitude, so i'm hoping that will simplify the problem!

THANKS SO MUCH!

Just Joined!
    The command to start X is startx. If you get errors, you may try copying your X config file from Knoppix and using it in Debian.

Just Joined!
    Ok! That should work!

... now just one question. If i get errors, and need to copy the config file,
    where on knoppix will i find it?
    and where do i put it in debian?

THANKS!

Just Joined!
    Its ususally in /etc/X11

Just Joined!
    ... what would the file name be?

Just Joined!
    never mind
    i think i'm just going to use the root shell, delete the current directory contents and replace them with the whole directory in the knoppix X11 folder... just in case its a lishgtly different version of X (dunno why though - cause its the same kernel)

Just Joined!
    OK!
    drat
    there was apparently some dependency i ruined by changing over to the config of knoppix...

I wonder if knoppix has a program to auto-config X for a different system ...