Find the answer to your Linux question:
System(s) Used: 1. P4 1.8 Ghz - Promise Fasttrak 100 TX 2 RAID 1 – 2 x 40GB - 1GB DDR to be used as a webserver. 2. AMD 900 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

RH7.2, RH7.3 and SUSE 8.1 Hardware Problem

System(s) Used:

1. P4 1.8 Ghz - Promise Fasttrak 100 TX 2 RAID 1 – 2 x 40GB - 1GB DDR to be used as a webserver.
    2. AMD 900 Mhz, 1 x 40GB, 2 x Removable HD Drives (for cloning), 256 MB RAM, used as a personal system

Level of knowledge

I am new to linux and an reasonably experienced Win 2K Server user.

Problem Description

1. Installed Suse 8.1 on System 1. Suse recognised the Raid controller immediately and installed perfectly. However since i needed Coldfusion MX on this system, i needed to convert to Red Hat 7.3 which is the latest distribution to be supported by Coldfusion MX. (so i thought, later i would find out that it’s actually RH7.2)
    2. Converted to Red Hat 7.3 with driver downloaded from promise.com for support of the Raid Controller.
    3. Some errormessages popped up. I booted out of the installation which may have caused all the problems; After this Red Hat 7.3 wouldn’t install anymore and guess what, neither did Suse 8.1 nor RH7.2.
    4. Tried to install Windows 2000 server, no problem, worked at once
    5. Used Fdisk/mbr, ranish and eafdisk /restore:file.mbr and tried to install RH7.2, no results
    6. Tried Lilo in RH7.2, tried to install on first sector i.s.o. in mbr, no results
    7. Flashed the bios, no results
    8. Tried to low-level format the Harddisks but the software from Maxtor does’t appear to recognise the partition tables, so this didn’t work.
    9. Installed RH7.2 on system 2, cloned it to the two disks on the RAID controller of system 1, didn’t work.