Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Well, SuSe 8.1 was working great but I just restarted the computer for the first time today and it wont boot windows xp. It list Windows as one of the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    36

    Here we go again, booting probs...


    Well, SuSe 8.1 was working great but I just restarted the computer for the first time today and it wont boot windows xp. It list Windows as one of the boot options but it just wont load it. This is basically the same problem I had when I was using Mandrake. This time though, I am using Grub as the boot manager. Should I switch to LILO and do what I was told to do when I was using Mandrake?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    No, don't switch to LILO. Just give us what's in your /boot/grub/grub.conf and what's on your partitions.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    36

    Ok...

    Grub Configuration:
    # Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Mon Jan 6 13:56:44 2003


    gfxmenu (hd0,4)/message
    color white/blue black/light-gray
    default 0
    timeout 20

    title linux
    kernel (hd0,4)/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda7 hdc=ide-scsi vga=788
    initrd (hd0,4)/initrd

    title windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    chainloader +1
    makeactive

    title floppy
    root (fd0)
    chainloader +1

    title failsafe
    kernel (hd0,4)/vmlinuz.shipped root=/dev/hda7 ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off vga=normal nosmp maxcpus=0 disableapic 3
    initrd (hd0,4)/initrd.shipped

    Here are my partitions:
    /dev/hda - WDC WD1200JB-75CRA0 (harddrive as a whole)
    /dev/hda1 - Dell Utility
    /dev/hda2 - HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/hda3 - Extended
    /dev/hda5 - Linux native (/boot)
    /dev/hda6 - Linux swap (swap)
    /dev/hda7 - Linux native (/)

    I have tried editing the grub file to hda0,1 hda0,0 hda0,2
    when it is set to 2 it doesnt load anything. when it is at 1 or 0 it just looops from Loading Bios to Grub to the Dell Manufacturer screens to bios to grub when you select windows from the list of OSs listed

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    It should be (hd0,1). Try this instead:
    Code:
    title windows
    rootnoverify (hd0,1)
    map (hd0,0) (hd0,1)
    map (hd0,1) (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    makeactive
    As you can see, it's basically the same, just the two map lines added. I don't really know if Windows XP also has that bug, or if it's possible to map partitions, but it's worth a shot.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    36
    it didnt work
    after selecting windows the screen went black for a second and was back on the grub loader

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    36
    i read some tutorial and it said to load the bootloader on /boot, so i tried it out and got a kernal panic. I just reinstalled suse and something odd happened. in grub it listed two new things:
    windows 1
    windows 2

    windows 1 did that looping thing and windows 2 just made the screen flash black and it was back at grub.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I can't help thinking that it's that dell partition that messes it up. What is it, really?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    36
    its 2 consecutive screens. the first screen is a user thing telling you about the computer and the second screen shows you the computer service number. when the computer was shipped and finally got to my house those were the first screens i saw when i plugged in the computer, after that i never saw those screens again. the computer is a dell

  9. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Couldn't you just delete that partition, then? Make it the linux boot partition instead, and maybe you'll get more luck.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    36
    i dont know what will happen if i got rid of it =/ maybe it is needed for something....

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •