Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Linux so I built a PC to try it out. The PC has never had MS Windows installed, so the had disk has no FAT/NTFS partitions. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual Boot Problem

I am new to Linux so I built a PC to try it out. The PC has never had MS Windows installed, so the had disk has no FAT/NTFS partitions. I simply installed Linux and it is running well. Problem is I now wish to create a dual boot PC, however whenever I try to install MS Windows (98 or XP) the installation hangs at the checking hardware stage. I guess I need to re-format the hard disk, installing Windows followed by Linux. As I have no floppy drive any suggestions as to where I go next?

Linux Engineer
    Linux can't be causing your WinXP install to hang because it has nothing to do with it. I don't think a disk format will fix that..

serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

Re: Dual Boot Problem

Quote Originally Posted by Peter Shipley
    however whenever I try to install MS Windows (98 or XP) the installation hangs at the checking hardware stage. I guess I need to re-format the hard disk, installing Windows followed by Linux. As I have no floppy drive any suggestions as to where I go next?
    Yes, a fresh start is the recommended approach. While Windows can be installed after Linux it can be tricky to set up. So I suggest you install Win first but Partition the Hard Drive so that Windows has it's own partition with whatever size you think best to accomodate both Win and LInux. You will need to at least 3 partitions, one for Win and at least 2 for Linux.