Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
No edit your /etc/make.conf file and add the cflags to it. Then all the programs you compile on the system will use those flags (This means every user will use ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219

    No edit your /etc/make.conf file and add the cflags to it. Then all the programs you compile on the system will use those flags (This means every user will use them to). I use these flags for my XP2200+
    Code:
    CFLAGS="-march=athlon-xp -m3dnow -msse -mfpmath=sse -mmmx -O3 -pipe -fforce-addr -fomit-frame-pointer -funroll-loops -frerun-cse-after-loop -frerun-loop-opt -falign-functions=4 -maccumulate-outgoing-args -ffast-math -fprefetch-loop-arrays"
    FORGOT: Or if you want to use those CFLAGS on just one program just use
    Code:
    export CFLAGS="my-groovy-optimiztions" &&
    CXXFLAGS="{$CFLAGS}"
    But after you have compiled it you need to start a new shell to clear the CFLAGS variable.

  2. #12
    Linux User Mado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    255
    thanks Ol Man. I have one last question though. I followed the link you gave, however, is there any place where I can see a list of CFLAGS and what the different ones actually do?

  3. #13
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    on the system i am using right now i dont want to have to compile anything cause it woudl take way to long so how do you start installing from stage 3. o and i havent take time to look at the documentation yet . i was jst thinking i would see if there was a command that would start up the installation process to stage 3.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  4. #14
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Nope there is no installer for gentoo you will have to read the install guide. You have to setup your network connection and partitions then create your filesystem. Then enter a chroot enviroment to install so its all done by you.

  5. #15
    Linux Engineer big_k105's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Fargo, ND
    Posts
    901
    thats cool well i know one thing when i get gentoo installed i will most likely know more about linux then when i started which is always good. thanks for the help
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75
    Gentoo is nice and easy. Don't let people convince you that it is hard.

  7. #17
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Yeah...even though Gentoo sorta throws you in, it's easy and you learn quickly.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •