Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
has anyone tryed Gentoo. i was curious what everyone thought about the installation process. it seems quite difficult to me but im still pretty new to this stuff....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Gentoo

has anyone tryed Gentoo. i was curious what everyone thought about the installation process. it seems quite difficult to me but im still pretty new to this stuff.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

Its really simple just follow the install guide on there site to the word and you cant go wrong. I installed it awhile ago from stage one, Then compiled xfree86 and kde and it took nearly 2 days on a XP2200+. Here is a site for some CFLAGS you can add to your make.conf for optimization its a start -> http://www.freehackers.org/gentoo/gc...g_gcc3opt.html , I found some better ones from Goole but i didnt bookmark it.

serious it took almost 2 days! dang that means that will take like 10 days on my computer that i was goin to put it on. how about stage 3 does that look alot easier. its suppose to be but i havent really looked i have the live cd running on my computer but i dont know where to go from there. (i guess i will have to read the install stuff on there site. but its so long

well thanks for the response. what does everyone else thing.
    BIG K aka Kyle
    Programming Forums
    www.kylekonline.com
    Please don\'t PM me for help-- ask in the forums instead!

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    If you start from stage 3 it installs the binarys for you so you dont have to compile anything (Untill you install something). I only started from stage one to see if i noticed any differnce. But i havent botherd running any benchmarks yet but it seems stable.