Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi , i am a newbie to linux .........i have a system on which FC3 linux is installed and then i installed windows XP on it........now i am unable to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

booting problem

hi ,

i am a newbie to linux .........i have a system on which FC3 linux is installed and then i installed windows XP on it........now i am unable to boot to my linux partition ....the system directly boots in to widows xp ...is there any way to boot in to linux (without using floppy drive)other than re-installing it ........

plz do help me

with regards
    harish

did you request to install "grub" as your boot loader during your linux install?

If you did, have you installed or re-installed Windows since you did the Linux install?

If you did not install grub, or you have installed, re-installed windows, then you will need to redo the grub install. You can either boot, using diskette or CDROM to get Linux and then install grub from the command prompt (enter "info grub" to find out how, or read the tutorial about solving boot problems in the general tutorial section of this site), or you can redo the Fedora install and make sure that you say that you want grub to be put onto your master boot record (mbr), this is probably the easiest and should leave you with a PC that boots into a pretty grub boot menu that gives you the options to boot into linux or windows.

have fun

Nerderello

Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

Re: booting problem

Quote Originally Posted by pop_harish
    then i installed windows XP on it........now i am unable to boot to my linux partition ....the system directly boots in to widows xp ..