Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hello, I am trying to install Linux on a hard drive that has Windows already. I partitioned it: first logical partition - win, then - linux. While installing (Red Hat) ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    48

    problem with dual installation


    Hello,
    I am trying to install Linux on a hard drive that has Windows already. I partitioned it: first logical partition - win, then - linux. While installing (Red Hat) I get he following message: Boot partition may not meet booting constraints for your architecture.
    After installlation I am never able to start LILO. Its always Windows...
    Any ideas...?

    tnanx

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Does your BIOS support LBA on your hard drive?

    Did you format the partition that you wanted to install Linux to? If so, what format?
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    48
    What's LBA?
    I formatted partition while installing Linux - typical (ext3 for /, and swap)

    thanx

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Everything you wanted to know about LBA, but were afraid to ask.

    Make sure that your BIOS supports LBA and you have it turned on for your drive.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    48
    ok, my BIOS does not support LBA. Is there anything else I can do?

    thnx

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1

    dual installation

    hay guys,
    i have one query,
    is it possible to install dual mode in a single system.note;both are linux.
    if it is possible try to send details.


    Thanks & Regards
    babu k
    babuk@aventail.com

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    hi babuk !!

    Quote Originally Posted by babuk
    is it possible to install dual mode in a single system.note;both are linux.
    its possible and i have four OS in the single machine... FC5, Kubuntu, SuSe and Xp...
    if you know about Dual Boot then installing other distro wont be a problem...

    check these articles on Dual Boot ...

    http://www.devhood.com/tutorials/tut...utorial_id=405
    http://www.howtoforge.com/windows_linux_dual_boot

    <=== { casper } ===>
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    the hills
    Posts
    1,134
    This means that a Linux kernel can only be booted when it is entirely located within the first 1024 cylinders, unless you both have a modern BIOS (a BIOS that supports the Extended INT13 functions), and a modern bootloader (a bootloader that uses these functions when available).

    This problem (if it is a problem) is very easily solved: make sure that the kernel (and perhaps other files used during bootup, such as LILO map files) are located on a partition that is entirely contained in the first 1024 cylinders of a disk that the BIOS can access - probably this means the first or second disk.

    Thus: create a small partition, say 10 MB large, so that there is room for a handful of kernels, making sure that it is entirely contained within the first 1024 cylinders of the first or second disk. Mount it on /boot so that LILO will put its stuff there.

    Most systems from 1998 or later will have a modern BIOS.
    http://www.linux.org/docs/ldp/howto/...k-HOWTO-5.html

    The fdisk -l /dev/hda command should show the cylinder info
    on your first hard drive. If your linux partition is above cyl 1023,
    and your BIOS doesn't support extended int 13 instructions,
    you'll have to use some kind of workaround like creating a small
    /boot partition within those limits, booting from floppy,
    or installing a second hard drive.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •