Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello All, I am new to Linux and I have already tried installing Fedora Core 3 and Alt Linux 2.3 distributions on my Dell Inspiron 2560 notebook that already has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

1024 Cylinder Boundary Problem

Hello All,

I am new to Linux and I have already tried installing Fedora Core 3 and Alt Linux 2.3 distributions on my Dell Inspiron 2560 notebook that already has Windows XP installed on it. Both times I installed Linux, I could not boot Win XP. The Win XP partition could not be bootable because it crossed infamous 1024 cylinder boundary (as I was told). I really need to be able to use both, Win XP and Linux on my machine. I cannot shrink my Windows partition so it doesn't cross 1024 cylinder limit. What do I do? I've heard of some BIOS extensions and tools that somehow translate addresing of hard drives, but I couldn't find the tools themselves.

Any suggestions for overcoming the problem are welcome. My next try will be SuSE 9.3. Thanks in advance.

Linux Engineer
    Normally it's a BIOS issue. Go to Dell's site and see if there's an upgrade to your BIOS.
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

Just Joined!
    I've got the latest BIOS upgrade from Dell.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    Is your hard drive set to LBA in the BIOS?
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

Just Joined!
    I read about LBA, but I'm not sure whether it's on or not. How do I check if my hard drive set to LBA or not? And how do I set it to LBA if it's not?

Just Joined!