Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
ok. i used to be into linux a few years ago, but now after living in windows for a while i want to go back to linux. However windows has ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    tim
    Just Joined!

iso

ok.

i used to be into linux a few years ago, but now after living in windows for a while i want to go back to linux. However windows has also made me all user-friendly and "dumber".

I decided to try redhat 8.0

i downloaded the first 3 .iso cd images or something as it said.

now what do i do, do i simply put these 3 big files on to seperate cds and they boot?

or is there a program that abstracts the iso and puts them on cd or something.

this will sound so silly to you people i know but im new to it again.

if i remeber correctly linux cds dont just have the image they have many files, so what do i do with the iso files?

cos on the redhat site it said the its not just the case of copying the images to cd...

sorry im confused help!

thanx!

please reply asap cos i wanna get linux on asap.

also is fips program good for splitting drives or is there any other programs?

Linux Guru
    The .iso files (iso as in ISO 9660, the standard CD file system) are CD data tracks in raw format. In linux, you can mount them directly as CDs (using a loop device, of course).
    You'll have to burn them raw. I don't know what burner program that you use, but there are some free ones for windows out there to burn .iso files. I don't remember any names, though. There might be one called just ISO Burner or something similar.

tim
    Just Joined!
    hi!

i use a ahead nero for Windows.

http://www.nero.com/en/index.html

In the program, it allows me to open files, if i click on the file format drop down menu and select iso and then open it the .iso i got, the write window opens up, whether this will just copy the .iso or convert i dont know