Find the answer to your Linux question:
I just finished building a new computer for myself, the specs of which I'll post a little further down. I'm attempting to install Red Hat 9 onto this box, however, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red Hat Linux 9 Installation Help...I'm a newbie around here

I just finished building a new computer for myself, the specs of which I'll post a little further down. I'm attempting to install Red Hat 9 onto this box, however, regardless of whether I use text or graphical install modes at somepoint in the installation "Install exited abnormally - Signal 11" will come up and of course I have to shut down or restart the machine. Right now the hard drives are empty. I also MD5SUM checked each of the ISOs and all passed, I also did the Installation media check and again all 3 discs passed. Anyone have any ideas of whats wrong. Heres the specs on the computer:
    AMD Athlon XP 2700+ Processor
    ASUS A7N8X Motherboard
    512 MB of DDR 3200 RAM (Ultra Memory brand)
    Dual 80 GB 7200 RPM Hard Drives with Hard Drive Coolers (Hitachi/IBM Deskstar)
    Full Tower Chieftec Case
    52x/24x/48x CD-R/RW/Reader (Sony)
    16x/10x/40x CD & DVD Burner/Reader (NEC)
    3 Case Fans
    3.5" Floppy Drive
    250 mb USB 2.0 External Zip Drive
    Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers
    64 MB DDR GeForce Ti 4200 with S-Video Out (XFX make)
    400 Watt Power Supply (CompUSA Brand)
    17" CRT Monitor

I know the processor isn't overheating nor is the motherboard or any other internal peripherals. Everything runs at a healthy temperature. The NEC DVD Burner I listed above is from a DELL Dimension, and I wonder if there isn't something proprietary about it screwing everything up. Thanks everyone for all your help, its greatly appreciated!!!

Brian

Linux Enthusiast
    have you disabled plug n play in your bios?

Linux Guru