Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm new to linux... <-How many times have you heard that? Anyways.... to the meat and potatoes. I have two computers and I want to put linux on the older ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Bios. Cd drives. And Code 4.

I'm new to linux... <-How many times have you heard that?

Anyways.... to the meat and potatoes.

I have two computers and I want to put linux on the older one. It is a 200Mhz P2 with 32megs of ram, and about 3.5 gigs of space on the HD.
    It currently doesn't have an OS other than the ambios. I have arklinux iso image burned on to a cd, and the installer kept failing, so i ended up killdisking the drive to put just linux on it.(It had windows 98 on it)

I have the bios set to boot from the Cd drive but i keep getting code 4 (can't boot from cd) when putting it in and I can't even put windows back on. I need to know what setting in the bios to tweak so i can actually install Linux. Also, i don't care what distribution of linux i put on the computer as long as it actually goes on unlike arklinux. If you could tell me what a good beginner linux user distribution is... that'd be nice.

Thanks.

Linux Guru
    Since arklinux is still alpha, you might want to consider some other distro of older vintage, like RH or Mdk. Of the two, I personally recommend RH, but that's individual. Try to boot it from the CD first, and if it doesn't work, then put it into your Winbloze machine and write a boot floppy. The floppy image is in the file /images/bootdisk.img on the CD. Use the Winbloze program /dosutils/rawrite.exe to write the image to a floppy. Then insert the CD and the floppy in the old machine and enjoy the show!

Just Joined!
    i'll have to try it when i get home. the computer is windows 2k. i'll report how it goes later. thank you.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!