Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i just installed RH9 on my primary master. i got win98 on secondary master. however i can't seem to boot win98 and get an invalid system disk. in my lilo.conf ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

dual boot with different drives

i just installed RH9 on my primary master. i got win98 on secondary master. however i can't seem to boot win98 and get an invalid system disk. in my lilo.conf file it's set like this:

others=/dev/hdc1
    optional
    label=win98

there are no other partitions on this drive for windows. anyone care to help me out? i'm still a newbie in linux...

Linux Guru
    I don't think that Win98 can boot from the secondary master, and I don't think that LILO is up to the task of correcting it, like GRUB is.
    To see if I'm right, go to my homepage (see bottom of post for a link), download the GRUB boot disk image and write it to a floppy with discardable contents using "cat grub.img >/dev/fd0". Then boot from that disk and run these GRUB commands:
    Code:
    rootnoverify (hd2,0)
    map (hd0) (hd2)
    map (hd2) (hd0)
    chainloader +1
    makeactive
    boot
    See if that manages to boot WIn98.

Linux User
    so i've heard this "can't boot as secondary" before, but it was kinda vague. so i didn't believe it. how come windoze can't boot as secondary?
    so that's why! damn!

unfortunately, i have yet to have my board changed coz it's kinda defective when it comes to floppy drives. it identifies the floppy drive but can't read what's in the floppy. i have had 3 working, good floppy drives and all don't work when i use it with my mobo! so i installed using CD.

is there another way around this without the floppy thingy?

Linux User