Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
I'm very new to Linux so hopefully someone can help me and get me moving so i can get rid of Windows!! As i said i am very new to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

VERY S L O W - Help

I'm very new to Linux so hopefully someone can help me and get me moving so i can get rid of Windows!! As i said i am very new to Linux so i appologise if some of the terms are not right!

I have just installed Red Hat 9 (Personal Desktop) on my computer, was installed on a seperate partition with about 30gb of space free (i have left Windows 2k on for now while i test). The installation seemed to go fine with no errors and all my hardware seemed to be detected and installed without a hitch.

The problem i have found is that when i login to the Gnome Personal Desktop it is very very slow at responding to anything i do be it with the mouse or keyboard. When i try to open a menu or folder it seems to take for ever and when i move the mouse around the screen the cursor will move a little then stop. I am assuming that this is not normal practice as before i actually login the mouse seems to move smoothly.

I am hoping this can be solved easily and is not a hardware compatibility problem this is the main Computer Spec:

P4 2.4ghz
    80GB HDD
    512mb
    Intel 82845G Onboard Graphics

I hope somone can help as i would really like to start using Linux but as it stands at the moment its unusable!

Thanks in advance!

Linux Guru