Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
now i have mandrake 10.1 installed on my computer,after i type my login id and my password it comes up [my name and localhost] what am i doing wrong ...sorry ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    26

    question about login...


    now i have mandrake 10.1 installed on my computer,after i type my login id and my password it comes up [my name and localhost] what am i doing wrong ...sorry for so many questions....

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    I'm not sure I understand. What exactly is happening and what exactly are you expecting the system to do?
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    26
    i cant get passed the login to start using linux...im sorry if im making this confusing....

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    352
    What kind of screen do you get?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    26
    when linux boots up the first screen i get is this:

    login: joe(my name)
    password: i enter my pass

    then i get this . [joe@localhost jody]$

    this what i get then i dont know what to do...

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    352
    Well, if its a black screen you're talking about when you get:

    Code:
    [joe@localhost jody]$
    What happens when you try typing this:

    Code:
    startx
    ?

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Quote Originally Posted by cpucrazy13
    when linux boots up the first screen i get is this:

    login: joe(my name)
    password: i enter my pass

    then i get this . [joe@localhost jody]$

    this what i get then i dont know what to do...
    You're logged in at that point. Linux is running. Now what do you want it to do?
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    26
    Thanks for taking the time to help me....when i put that command in you sugested it saysexecve


    failied for /etc/x11/x (errno 2)

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    55

    re:

    type this @ that screen:

    su
    password

    vi /etc/inittab

    find the default startup line and make sure it is on runlevel5

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    virginia
    Posts
    26
    im trying to get on line and see the screens that show up like it does when it install...or does it stay in this black dos mode all the time

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •