Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I am trying to install Linux on this one computer and for some reason when I press enter to boot it loads vmlinux and then instead of going to the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379

    Can't get passed vmlinux


    I am trying to install Linux on this one computer and for some reason when I press enter to boot it loads vmlinux and then instead of going to the next part to install it restarts. Can someone help?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Which distro is this? Have you checked the MD5-sum to make sure the ISO wasn't corrupt?

    The "vmlinuz"-part is usually the kernel, so it may be problems with the kernel on the CD?

  3. #3
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    nope it isn't. It's Mandrake 7.0(yes I know it's old). But It works fine installing on my other computer.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard_The_Lionhearted
    nope it isn't. It's Mandrake 7.0(yes I know it's old). But It works fine installing on my other computer.
    It's is possible that this distro has a compatiibilty issue with your BIOS/CMOS. I say that because I've encountered similiar problem with SUSE 9.2 boot disks on a new Compaq box. Loads vmlinuz then reboots and right back to square one. I can put the SUSE on another non-compaq box and no issue. I can put another distro on the Compaq box and no issue. I've also seen similar issues reported on other posts via Google.

    So just one possibility.
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  5. #5
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Actually you're wrong. It turns out the problem was caused by the cd rom drive. It's definitely not the bios because I have installed Mandrake 7.0 and Redhat 6.0 a while back when I was looking for a distro.

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Well glad I was wrong.
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard_The_Lionhearted
    Actually you're wrong. It turns out the problem was caused by the cd rom drive. It's definitely not the bios because I have installed Mandrake 7.0 and Redhat 6.0 a while back when I was looking for a distro.
    Why did you ask if you knew the answer?

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •