Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a newbie to Linux.. I downloaded the 4 ISO's of Fedora Core 3 and burnt them and successfully installed Linux. After the installation finished, the computer rebooted. But ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Dual Boot Problem... Plz Help

I am a newbie to Linux.. I downloaded the 4 ISO's of Fedora Core 3 and burnt them and successfully installed Linux. After the installation finished, the computer rebooted.
    But instead of a screen where i can select between XP and Fedora Core 3..... the computer automatically booted into XP....
    I am not being able to get into FC3.

Please help

Just Joined!
    did you make a 3.5" boot disk for your fedora installation? if you did then you can use that to boot your fedora and from there you can configure your /etc/grub.conf.

either your timeout is set to 0 in grub.conf or your grub was not sent to the mbr. if your grub was not sent to the mbr because you didnt want it there then you have to change your boot.ini in win xp to tell it to go to grub but using nested boot loaders doesnt make any sense to me (eg telling one boot loader to run another boot loader has no benefit that i can think of).

the following link might be helpful.
    http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/man...b-install.html

Just Joined!
    thanks for those suggestions... i checked a bit more... and i think that GRUB has not installed itself at all! I tried running the setup again, but still it fails to install....

Is there any other way by which I can boot into FC3 ?? Like, maybe changing the boot.ini file. If so, please tell me how to go about it..

When you were installing Fedora, did you have a section where you were asked quiestions about which bootloader, LiLo or Grub?
    Where you wanted to put it, root partition or MBR? Should be on the MBR.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger