Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I have a monitor that isn't listed. All it says is this.......... 60 hz 100~120v I tried customizing the monitor but I guess I did something wrong. Linux detected my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379

    Monitor


    I have a monitor that isn't listed. All it says is this..........

    60 hz 100~120v

    I tried customizing the monitor but I guess I did something wrong.

    Linux detected my video card, which is a Matrox Millennium with 2 mbs of ram. So can anyone tell me how to do this? I selected "60 hz vga monitor" and "50-70" but x-configured gives me an error.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028

  3. #3
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    okay what do you want my cpu, ram and hard drivwe size.

    The Cpu is a K6-2 @ 500mhz

    256mb of ram

    and a 8.4 hdd

    The distro is Mandrake 7.0. It's the only one so far that I have that I can install on this system.

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    And your monitor is ?

    Add the refreshrates from the manual of the monitor to the xorg.conf file. Here's mine:
    Code:
            VertRefresh  56.0 - 75.0
            HorizSync    30.0 - 83.0
    I have a LCD so yours could be different. But the syntax is the same
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  5. #5
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Mine doesn't have that it is a Magnovox/Phillips cm2089 and it was made in 1995. That's all it says

  6. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Here's a link with some specs for that monitor:

    http://www.griffintechnology.com/arc...s/Magna13.html

    Hope it helps...

  7. #7
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Thanks.


    But what am I suppose to put? It asks me to choose a monitor type, so do I pick 60 hz? And I don't understand the next question the next question when it asks me to pick between 50-70,50-90,50-100 and 40-120.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    This is the range that the monitor can use at different resolutions.

    Your vertical should reflect: 50-70
    Your horizontal should reflect: 31.5 - 35.5
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

  9. #9
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Quote Originally Posted by retired1af
    This is the range that the monitor can use at different resolutions.

    Your vertical should reflect: 50-70
    Your horizontal should reflect: 31.5 - 35.5
    there lowest monitor hz listed is 56. So how am I suppose to input 31.5-35.5

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Where my hat is
    Posts
    766
    Manually edit xorg.conf
    Registered Linux user #384279
    Vector Linux SOHO 7

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •