Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I finally got sick of windows the other day and my friend told me about linux. Now im running red hat 9.0 but i cant get my wireless Linksys ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linksys WMP11

Hi, I finally got sick of windows the other day and my friend told me about linux. Now im running red hat 9.0 but i cant get my wireless Linksys WMP11 to work in linux. Im pretty new to it so i cant understand most of the instructions that i get from sites like the linux-wlan-ng drivers. Is there anyone out there that can help me get my WMP11 configured so I can get on the net in Linux? Thanks!

Linux Guru
    I would have thought that RH9 would have come with drivers for it, but I'll take your word that it doesn't work. =)

Anyway, can you post the instructions or (preferrably) a link to them, so that we may review them?

Just Joined!

Linksys WMP11

Yes, I thought that Red Hat would come with them too, as i saw that it had wireless capability and linksys is about the biggest brand of wireless products out there. But on their driver list they dont seem to have any of the big names. The linux-wlan site is http://www.linux-wlan.org/ . The instructrions are on their FTP server as a readme file. Thanks for all your help and the (very) fast reply!

Linux Guru
    In fact, it is possible that the existing drivers do support your card, even though the specific card isn't listed. Almost all 802.11b cards there is are based on the Prism2 and Prism2.5 wireless chipsets from Intersil. RedHat might simply not have added Linksys to the list of card names. On the other hand, since the installation didn't autodetect the card, it is also rather likely that the shipped drivers actually don't support it.