Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
I'm trying to install Debian. I'm at the part after the "choose a hostname" with the "automatic network configuration" screen. I use Verizon DSL with a Linksys router. When it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108

    Network configuration


    I'm trying to install Debian.

    I'm at the part after the "choose a hostname" with the "automatic network configuration" screen. I use Verizon DSL with a Linksys router. When it asked if I use DHCP, I said yes. DHCP failed. I don't know what the problem is.

    Under my network configuration, it says that I have a dynamic IP. Why isn't DHCP working? I have an internet connection under my Windows partition.

    I'm going to reinstall Debian with the information once you guys help me solve this problem.

    While you're at it, I have a really old monitor, and I want to try and install the X-Window system. How can I find the horizontal and vertical refresh rates? Do I need to know them? A tutorial I found says I can just use "simple" settings.

    My video card is a Diamond V9600XT256 Radeon 9600-XT. How would I do that on the list of video cards for configuring Xserver-xfree86?

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie jamey112's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    212
    is DHCP turned on in the router?
    Today I fell and felt better, Just knowing this matters, I just feel stronger and SHARPER!!!, Found a box of sharp objects, What a beautiful THING!!! Box of Sharp Objects - The Used

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    I'm not sure. I need to check that - but I'm pretty sure it is.

    One more thing; can I reconfigure the network without having to reinstall Linux again? I'm running out of empty floppies.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Yes, there is very little which you cannot repair without reinstalling. Network configuration can be fixed without even rebooting. But the last time I used Debian was 4 years ago.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by puntmuts
    Yes, there is very little which you cannot repair without reinstalling. Network configuration can be fixed without even rebooting. But the last time I used Debian was 4 years ago.
    Do you have any idea as to how to do this? I'm completely clueless.

  7. #6
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    My dear friend Google gave me this: http://lug.hampshire.edu/projects/Do...working-HOWTO/
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108


    Okay, I'll try that.

    One thing; how do I get back into Linux? I forgot. When the computer starts up, it says 'MBR.' I recall something about holding down Shift - can someone please clear this up for me?

    Thanks guys, your help is really good.

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    I'm making some progress.

    My network card is the following:
    Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC. What driver should I use?

    Also, how do I find my network mask and gateway address?

    What should I put for DNS servers?

    Where should I install LILO? I want to dual boot Windows, with Windows as the default - should I install LILO to the MBR or what?

    Should the /etc/network/interfaces file look like this:

    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.1.1
        netmask ?
    Sorry for all the questions...I'm very new to this business.[/code]

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    181
    Not sure on the driver (no Debian experience, not sure how it's laid out), but network mask should be 255.255.255.0, and gateway address is either 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.1. The same address should work as a DNS server also.

    I put LILO on the MBR.. The Debian installer should auto-detect windows and put a windows option there, which will load the windows bootloader. If it doesn't, you'll want to add this to /etc/lilo.conf, and run /sbin/lilo

    Code:
    other = /dev/hda1
        label = Windows
    That is, if your Windows partition is /dev/hda1.

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by Monkeh
    I put LILO on the MBR.. It should auto-detect windows and put a windows option there, which will load the windows bootloader.
    Are you sure about that? Would I have to manually put Windows in as an option?

    I did an ipconfig /all, and got this:
    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : presario

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys Wireless-G USB Network Adapter #4

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-66-71-54-70

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 151.197.0.38

    151.197.0.39

    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, June 02, 2005 2:44:49 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, June 03, 2005 2:44:49 PM
    Can someone tell me what my /etc/network/interfaces should look like now?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •