Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
How do I get back into Linux? I've installed it, and when I turn on the computer a message that says "MBR" comes up. When I hold down Shift, it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108

    Getting back into Linux


    How do I get back into Linux? I've installed it, and when I turn on the computer a message that says "MBR" comes up. When I hold down Shift, it goes into a prompt that says 'MBR 2FA' which means nothing to me. What am I supposed to do?

    Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I'm thoroughly confused.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    108
    What distribution did you install? How did you have it set up? Your question is rather ambiguous.

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    I installed Debian. After I booted back into Windows, I realized that I didn't know how to get back into Linux.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    When you start the machine, you should be given the option which OS to boot.
    Unless you installed your bootloader to the root partition, in which case you will not get any choices.

    Did you pick LiLo or Grub?
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    108
    I wish I were more experienced with Debian, but I noticed that a distro that doesn't put its bootloader in the MBR will at least stick it in the first sector of the system's main partition (/boot perhaps, if you've got one). Do you know what bootloader, if any, Debian installed?

    We could use a Debian expert here.

  6. #6
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    Which version of Debian have you installed?

    I have Woody (3.0) and Sarge <testing> (3.1). Woody used LILO, but Sarge uses GRUB.
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Mine uses Lilo. I did not install Lilo to the MBR (I think), but when the comp starts, it prompts me saying 'MBR', and if I hold shift, it says 'MBR 2FA'

    I can get in with the boot floppy.

  8. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    If so, boot into linux with the floppy, make sure /etc/lilo.conf is OK and make it boot windows too if you want too, reinstall LILO (to MBR) and reboot.

  9. #9
    Linux User GNU_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada, eh
    Posts
    284
    I would recommend the same thing. The installer runs a liloconfig script that you can run anytime yourself, once Deb is booted. So just boot from your floppy, rerun the LILO config ( i forget the name of it) and this time make sure you install to MBR otherwise, i assure you, you will have problems because Windows FS is not the same as Linux..
    PTL x10 Hallelujah!
    AMD Athlon XP 2600+ 512MB RAM Dual 80G WD HD 8MB Cache (1 WinXP Home, 1 CentOS 4.2) GeForce Ti4200 128MB SB Live! 5.1
    Registered Linux user #391521

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    108
    Quote Originally Posted by jaboua
    If so, boot into linux with the floppy, make sure /etc/lilo.conf is OK and make it boot windows too if you want too, reinstall LILO (to MBR) and reboot.
    How can I reinstall it to MBR? I don't want to have to reinstall Linux...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •