Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Here's what I'm wanting to do. Currently, my desktop is running Win XP off of a SATA drive. I'm gonna throw a ATA dirve in it for FC4. So, the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    58

    Dual boot question


    Here's what I'm wanting to do. Currently, my desktop is running Win XP off of a SATA drive. I'm gonna throw a ATA dirve in it for FC4.

    So, the question is does the "Linux drive" need to be the "master" drive? I'm wanting to disconnect my SATA during the install process to just make sure I don't screw up and over-write Windows. Can I then go into the bootloader on the Linux machine and edit it to give me the option to look at the Windows drive, and if so, can someone provide a link or let me know how to do that?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    When you install FC4, it doesn't matter whether or not it is on a slave drive or Master.
    Windows, however, needs to be on the master drive.

    So, put FC4 on the slave drive, and leave your master in.
    Don't format the slave drive, leave it as free space.

    If you don't like the Automatic partitioning plan that you are presented with, just select, Custom Partitioning with Druid.
    Highlight the free space, click resize, make a partition for swap if you want one, it is optional. If you have more than 500 MB ram, you probably don't need one.
    Then create a / partition for root.
    A /home is optional, a place for your personal files. It is not a problem for your personal files to be on /.

    Install Grub to the MBR. You might have to tell it to boot Windows. This is the place to do that.

    Have fun with Linux.
    P.S. I hope I explained this well enough for you to understand.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    58
    Thanks for the quick reply.

    I'm just wanting to make sure that Linux is installed on that seperate drive from Windows. Will that second drive show as hda2 when I select where to install?

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    58
    It's freezing on "Loading usb-storage driver...."

    I'm using the same DVD that I used on my laptop.

    My desktop is a CyberPower System desktop. Following specs:
    Seagate 80GB SATA
    Maxtor 40GB ATA (this is where I'm wanting to install Linux to)
    AMD Athlon XP 2800
    Generic DVD ROM
    ARTEC 12X DVDRW
    Radeon 9600SE 128 MB
    ABIT NF7-S NFORCE-2 MB
    512 MB PC3200 PC400 DDR

    I've also added a 5 slot card reader, and a AverMedia PCI 550 tuner to it. Should I make sure all of the USB devices are disconnected? Could that be causing it to hang?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    58
    Okay, I disconnected all of my USB devices, and it's still hanging in the same spot. Is there something in the BIOS I should check?

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    58
    Update - I disabled the USB Controller in the BIOS, and it's going through now.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    You could also have typed "nousb" at the boot: prompt.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    58
    I'm having a problem. I did the install, and it went through fine, but it's still booting directly into Windows. I'm not being given an option when I boot up to chose between FC4 and Windows. I selected the bootloader to be installed at /dev/sda Master Boot Record (the sda drive should be the SATA drive that has Windows on it, correct?). What am I missing?

  9. #9
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    I don't see what you are missing.
    You installed Grub to the MBR.

    There should have been 2 options
    1. Install to the MBR-this is where you want.
    2. Install to the root partition-This will not work.

    It is possible that the difference between Sata and ide-ata. I just don't see this as a problem.
    But I have no personal experience with Sata.

    You could try looking into using ntldr to boot FC4

    Or you could visit www.bootdisk.com they have all kinds of boot disks.
    Another good site is

    http://ubcd.sourceforge.net/download.html

    The ubcd can boot any hard drive. and it has quite a few useful tools.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Behind You...
    Posts
    36
    if you are still having problems with the boot try another bootloadre such as lilo, you want the secondary drive setupa as the slave on the primary ide and the win drive as master on the primary ide as long as that is set right and you installed the bootloader with win and linux in the mbr then you might check in the control pannel in win because there is a option for booting other operating systems there. if you have this option turned off that may hinder your progress...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •