Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Hi ! Can someone help me with this question. I have a PC with a hd0 (WinXp) and hd1 (Fedora). Dual dooting works like a charm. But. Now i want ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    13

    Dual booting prob. with Grub and hd0, hd1, hd2


    Hi !

    Can someone help me with this question.

    I have a PC with a hd0 (WinXp) and hd1 (Fedora).
    Dual dooting works like a charm.

    But. Now i want to switch OS dist. (From Fedora --> RHEL).
    For some days i will have access to the both systems to be ensured that i donīt miss anything from my old system.
    To be shure that the installer/or I, donīt will mess things up in my system, i disconnected hd0, and hd1. Then i installed my RedHat, with success (on hd2).

    When i plugged in my previous discs and changed the grub.conf (se below), everything works at the start.....but then the systems says that itīs write-protected etc. It seems to me that there is some form of conflic.

    When i plug-out my new RHEL disc then i can start fedora, and
    when i plug-out my fedora & xp disc my new RHEL will start correctly.
    But when all my 3 discs are plugged in, i canīt start non of them.

    Is there some "root" flag that i will have to change or is there a conflict with MBR ?


    default=0
    timeout=30
    splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Fedora Core (2.4.22-1.2115.nptlsmp)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.22-1.2115.nptlsmp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb
    initrd /initrd-2.4.22-1.2115.nptlsmp.img
    title Fedora Core-up (2.4.22-1.2115.nptl)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.22-1.2115.nptl ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb
    initrd /initrd-2.4.22-1.2115.nptl.img
    title Win-XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    title RedHat ES 3 (2.4.21-32.0.1.EL)
    root (hd2,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL ro root=LABEL=/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL.img


    best regrds.


    WikiDude.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Looking at your grub.conf file, I see you have set the RedHat ES 3 lable as root=LABEL=/ , you might want to change that to root=/dev/hdc1 (or whatever drive/partition the new RH is on.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    13
    Yes, youīre right.

    I also noticed that just after sending my posting, but....it doesenīt work after this changes.

    /WikiDude

    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    Looking at your grub.conf file, I see you have set the RedHat ES 3 lable as root=LABEL=/ , you might want to change that to root=/dev/hdc1 (or whatever drive/partition the new RH is on.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Hmm, it seems that Fedora mods it's grub a little, have you tried root=LABEL/3 or root=LABEL/dev/hdc1 ?
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  6. #5
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    The root=LABEL=/ is standard for Fedora grub, so I wouldn't worry about that. Could you post the output from
    Code:
    df hT
    just so we can verify that the partitions in your grub.conf are correct?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    13
    This is the output from df -hT


    ==Fedora Machine==
    Filsystem Typ Storlek Anvnt Tillg Anv% Monterat pÃĨ
    /dev/hdb2 ext3 84G 40G 40G 50% /
    /dev/hdb1 ext3 99M 8,5M 86M 10% /boot
    none tmpfs 248M 0 248M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/hdb3 ext3 29G 2,3G 26G 9% /usr


    ==RedHat machine==

    Filsystem Typ Storlek Anvnt Tillg Anv% Monterat pÃĨ
    /dev/hdc6 ext3 35G 2.5G 31G 8% /
    /dev/hdc1 ext3 198M 26M 163M 14% /boot
    /dev/hdc2 ext3 97G 466M 91G 1% /home
    none tmpfs 247M 0 247M 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/hdc3 ext3 20G 94M 19G 1% /var

  8. #7
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Does it work if you set root=LABEL/dev/hdc6 ?
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    13
    Noope !

    Result:
    Kernel panic No init found


    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    Does it work if you set root=LABEL/dev/hdc6 ?
    My new grub.conf:

    default=0
    timeout=30
    splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
    title Fedora Core (2.4.22-1.2115.nptlsmp)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.22-1.2115.nptlsmp ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb
    initrd /initrd-2.4.22-1.2115.nptlsmp.img
    title Fedora Core-up (2.4.22-1.2115.nptl)
    root (hd1,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.22-1.2115.nptl ro root/dev/hdb1
    initrd /initrd-2.4.22-1.2115.nptl.img
    title Win-XP
    rootnoverify (hd0,0)
    chainloader +1
    title RedHat ES 3 (2.4.21-32.0.1.EL)
    root (hd2,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL ro root=LABEL/dev/hdc6
    initrd /initrd-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL.img

  10. #9
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    What happens when you set the RH entery as:
    title RedHat ES 3 (2.4.21-32.0.1.EL)
    root (hd2,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL root=LABEL/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL.img
    ?

    notice there is no ro in the line.
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    13
    Did like you said (whithout "no" and root=LABEL/) with no success.

    ->

    System starts....but after som 10 sec:

    Code:
    Mount root filesystem
    mount error 6 mounting ext3
    ....
    kernel panic. No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel
    So no big difference.


    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    What happens when you set the RH entery as:
    title RedHat ES 3 (2.4.21-32.0.1.EL)
    root (hd2,0)
    kernel /vmlinuz-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL root=LABEL/
    initrd /initrd-2.4.21-32.0.1.EL.img
    ?

    notice there is no ro in the line.
    [/code]

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •