Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi, I'm very new at this, but I installed Slackware 9.0 and I'm having a hard time getting control of my floppy and CD devices under other than root(they say ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    ORD
    Posts
    2

    Slackware: only root can mount floppy


    Hi, I'm very new at this, but I installed Slackware 9.0 and I'm having a hard time getting control of my floppy and CD devices under other than root(they say not to log in as ROOT). If I login as root, I can operate the floppy and CD, as well as changing user settings to Administrator level in Xwindows. When I go to my login name, I can't. I have also tried chmod 666 /dev/fd0, but no help there either.

    Any suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Rick

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Can you post the contents of your /etc/fstab?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    ORD
    Posts
    2
    No couldn't do that. Says no such file or directory.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    That can't be? You must have an /etc/fstab; anything else would be an indication that your system is screwed up in some way.

    Anyway, for now, try creating an /etc/fstab containing the following.
    Code:
    /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner 0 0
    Replace /mnt/floppy with wherever you want the floppy drive to be mounted. Then create another similar line for the CDROM, replacing /dev/fd0 with whatever device your CDROM is, and /mnt/floppy with wherever you want to mount the CDROM.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    27
    Should the line for the cdrom not read

    Code:
    /dev/hdd  /mnt/cdrom  iso9660  noauto,owner,ro 0 0
    especially the ro as a cdrom is normally read only?

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    ro doesn't hurt, but it will autodetect that. Just as with the filesystem; as long as you choose auto, virtually all else will be autoprobed. Sure, I'd prefer it the way you wrote, but it doesn't _really_ matter, so it was easier to write it the way I did.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •