Find the answer to your Linux question:
i am complete newbie to linux.... i am trying to install turbo... can anyone give me the exact steps to dual booting it...... actually when u guys say install to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

newbie trouble

i am complete newbie to linux.... i am trying to install turbo...
    can anyone give me the exact steps to dual booting it...... actually when u guys say install to hda1.... i want to know how to do that.........and how to further divide the hda1 for swap and all that.............

Most distros will set you up with a dual-boot by default.

If for some odd reason it doesn't, don't let it install to hda1. That is your Windows partition.
    It should resize Windows for you. Unless you have a partition ready for it to go into.
    It will also setup a bootloader so you can dual-boot.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

New users read The FAQ

Just Joined!

hello again

actually my disk is divided in to 50-50 1 and 2 partition...... but i dont know which one is hda1 and hda2...... can i use some pro windows partitioning tools.....(i have heard they r for newbies like me)..... to create a linux ext3 filesystem on one partition.... and then wait for linux to auto install it on this partition instead of touching my fat32 partition....

Just Joined!

now i have got info

now i have installed partition manager..... in xp.... i know the following details....
    i have a dual boot ME- on primary partition
    XP- on logical partition......
    i want to format primary partition... i want to know whetehr this is risky.. will my xp continue to work...(u know the word formatting primary partition is dangerous)....
    also if i format it and make it a ext3 partition...will my turbolinux install directly install into it without touching or resizing the logical partition...........

Just Joined!