Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 29 of 29
and i belive lib files are library files similar to winblows DLL files they contain the subfunctions that a main program calls from...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #21
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66

    and i belive lib files are library files similar to winblows DLL files they contain the subfunctions that a main program calls from

  2. #22
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Are you executing the rpm-command as root??
    Regards

    Andutt

  3. #23
    Oki
    Oki is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    No, I am not logged in as root before I try to run the .rpm. Do I need to

    Code:
    su root
    before I use the .rpm?

  4. #24
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You don't need to type "su root"; just "su" will do fine. Without arguments, "root" is implied.

    Btw., lib stands for library, and in terms of files it can be several. Strictly speaking, it is a file that contains a set of utility subroutines used when programming. These are most commonly distributed in .a (object Archive) files and .so (Shared Object) files, the former being for static linking into the program executable and the latter for dynamic linking at runtime. In that way, .so files are the UNIX counterpart for Windows DLLs. Technically, subroutines could be distributed in .o (relocateable Object) files, but since a library most often contains several relocateable objects, they are often archive in one .a file, unless a .so file is made of them. .so files are also referred to as shared libraries.

  5. #25
    Oki
    Oki is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    So I do need to
    Code:
    su
    before I install the .rpm?

    I thought Linux was open source. Why does SuSE cost money?

  6. #26
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Some distros charge money. Suse is one of them and I believe you pay for money if you want Red Hat Pro.
    The best things in life are free.

  7. #27
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Minnesota, USA yes.....
    Posts
    479
    Its up to the software makers to charge you :\

  8. #28
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    The difference between the RedHat that you download and RedHat Pro is that you get printed manuals and support with Redhat Pro; that's why it costs.

    SuSE is doing strange things, I think. I think that their yast program is kind of proprietary or something. That's one reason that I don't use SuSE.

    And, yes, you do need to run su to install an RPM. Installations always have to be carried out as root, since they have to write to directories to which only root have permission to.

  9. #29
    Oki
    Oki is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    12
    Wow; I can't thank you all enough. You have taught me mad stuff! More to come, doubtless, but ty to everyone!

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •